Ph.D Batjargal has more than 35 years experience working for the government entities in Mongolia dealing with issues of environmental protection and climate change. He received his PhD degree in physics and mathematical sciences in 1978 from the Hydrometeorological State University, Sankt-Petersburg, Russia.

Professional Career:

1989-1975            Engineer, Hydrometeorological Research Institute (HMRI)

1979-1982            Director of the Information & Computer Center, HMRI

1982-1988            Deputy Director General, National Hydrometeorological and Environmental Monitoring Service, Head of Service for Control of Radioactivity and Chemical Accidents

1988-1990            Expert, Protection of Ecosystem and Environmental Hygiene, Secretariat of CMEA in Moscow, Russian Federation

1990-1992            Minister of State, Chairman, State Committee for Nature and the Environmental Control of Mongolia

1992-1996            Minister of Nature and the Environment of Mongolia

1998-2001            Director General, National Agency for Meteorology, Hydrology and Environment Monitoring of Mongolia

2001-2005            Ambassador of Mongolia to Japan, Tokyo

2005 – 2011         WMO (World Meteorological Organization) Representative and Coordinator, United Nations, New York

2014-2016            Advisor at the Office of the President of the United Nations Environmental assembly (UNEA) of UNEP in Ulaanbaatar

Special envoy of Mongolia for climate change


Membership and social activities:

1980-1985            Member of Great People’s Hural (Parliament), Secretary of the Parliament Commission on Agriculture

1982-1987            Member, National Commission on Space Science

1992-2001            Member, National Commission to Combat Natural Disasters

1998-2001            President, Mongolian Environmental Trust Fund

1994-2000            President of Regional Association (Asia) of the World Meteorological Organization (UN specialized agency)

2000-2001            President of COP-4 of the UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification)

2000-2003            Member of Bureau of the UNCCD